Why Copyright Thieves are Stupid

Aaarrrgghhh! I HATE it when someone steals my content. I particularly hate it when some other commercial site steals content from one of my commercial sites. You would think the scumbags doing this would know better but, of course, they do which is why they are scumbags.

At present, I have a system where on about a weekly basis I do a search for sites publishing my articles (just search for a probably unique, short phrase in quotes) and based on this I add any newly appearing sites to a list in a little application I wrote. This app then scrapes the sites, checks the resource box is intact and if not, does a IP and domain name lookup and composes a nice professional looking DMCA notice on letter head ready for me to send (most people say it has to be on paper but, with the exception of Google, all the hosting providers I’ve dealt with have been willing to act on an e-mail). In the past I have usually then gone to the trouble of looking for a ‘contact us’ form on the site or email the (often fake) contact address on the whois information. Following the absence of response I then issue the DMCA notice to the hosting provider and name registrar concerned and I have to say it usually seems to work – I’ve had several sites that have stolen my content that are now just cyberdust (404 or 500 errors for the entire domains!).

Even so, it’s a hassle, it’s non-productive and I wish people wouldn’t do it!

Why oh why oh why don’t they just include the resource box – for the sake of including 1 whole unadulterated backlink they could save me the trouble of the 2-3 minutes effort it takes to check and send the DMCA notice and them the trouble of having a site that disappears within a couple of weeks of getting into the search engine indexes.

Stupid, stupid, stupid!

(Rant over!)

3 Responses to “Why Copyright Thieves are Stupid”

  1. WhiteKnight Says:

    Great system! I wouldn’t even have any idea who was stealing my content! I suppoe I haven’t really had the need to worry yet because I don’t make enough money from this to actually lose any by having other people use my stuff but perhaps one day, I’ll contat you and ask to use those little apps of yours to stomp out the content thieves…

  2. Darren Says:

    Nice system. I do a similar thing but on a much more simple scale. I have Google alerts set up for a line of unique content and get emails informing me when anyone decides to steal said content.

    It works well enough for me. Luckily content is not stolen that often, perhaps that’s down to my writing skills!

    • starvingaffiliate Says:

      @Darren
      Google Alerts! (sound of hand slapping own forehead) Now why didn’t I think of that! I already use Alerts for monitoring competition on my main keyword phrases and I used to use them to detect new incoming links to my own and competing sites (a feature that sadly no longer works). However it never occurred to me to use them for this but now you’ve mentioned it I will include it in my system, probably as a prompt to do a full manual sweep.

Leave a Reply

