Google’s Instant Search

We are at the end of the summer season when sales in my niches often drop off and it’s too early to see the gradual increase in sales that typifies the run up to Christmas, so this might be a conincidence but I am seeing a drop in sales and it seems to coincide with Google’s switch to instance search.

Note that traffic has not dropped off. In fact traffic has never been better due to the link building activities I have been engaged in over the last month or three. Now I realise that if you were to expect an effect from Google’s switch to instant search, that effect would be on traffic. All those long-tailed keywords losing value as people get half way through typing and notice the first item in the SERP is already what they want. It is possible there has been a shift from long-tailed to shorter, higher competition keywords (which I haven’t checked for)
but overall I am seeing no traffic loss yet sales have dropped to about half what they were last month, which is a more profound drop off than I saw last year in the same niches.

Curiouser and curiouser. As I said at the beginning, this may well just be coincidence and perhaps the economic climate is starting to bite but I will certainly be keeping a close eye on things over the next few weeks.

One Response to “Google’s Instant Search”

  1. Joe Says:

    That doesn’t sound good. I too get a drop off after the summer but in both traffic and sales. I’ve started work on more autumnal sites to bridge the gap which seems to be working ok.

    Need to get some more evergreen or all year round sites though.

    Not had a look at Google instant yet.

Leave a Reply

